Travel Information



Edward J. Birrane (Chair): Dr. Birrane is a member of the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory Principal Professional Staff where he supervises the Embedded Applications Group in the Space Exploration Sector. He has a background in real-time and embedded systems programming, including writing flight software for the NASA New Horizons mission to Pluto. He received a B.S. in Computer Science from Loyola University, an M.S. in Computer Science from Johns Hopkins University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Through his current work with NASA, he is authoring standards for securing and managing Delay Tolerant Networks (DTNs).

Mr. Juan A. Fraire (Co-Chair): Mr. Fraire received the Telecommunications Engineering degree at the Instituto Universitario Aeronáutico and is completing his PhD on Engineering Sciences in the National University of Córdoba (UNC). His research focuses on predictable DTN networking topology design for space-oriented applications. He is the communications protocol architect for Servicios Tecnológicos Integrados Company where he is developing DTN solutions for earth-observation LEO constellation projects defined in the Argentinian Space Agency (CONAE) National Space Plan.

Ms. Samantha K. Jacobs (Technical Program Committee): Ms. Jacobs is a member of the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory Professional Staff. She received a B.S. in Physics from Georgia Southern University and is pursuing graduate work in Computer Science. With the Goddard Space Flight Center, she designed and implemented the data management subsystems for the reference implementation of the Delay-Tolerant Network Management Protocol (DTNMP). Her work is included in the NASA DTN ION open-source repository of flight software.